breathalyzer test | blood alcohol concentration test | DUI attorney
What Happens if You Refuse a Blood Alcohol Concentration Test in Pennsylvania
February 20, 2020
Child with teddy bear
How is Child Custody Determined During a Same-Sex Divorce?
March 20, 2020

Actions and Infractions that Result in a Driver’s License Suspension in Pennsylvania

woman driving | driver's license suspension | attorney | Pa

Ask any newly licensed Pennsylvania driver and they’ll tell you they worked hard to qualify for the privilege of having that card in their wallet. With that in mind, it is remarkable how quickly that same license can be lost to a suspension. Pennsylvania has very strict laws regarding operating motor vehicles, and when drivers are in violation of these laws, they’re assigned points that accumulate on their driving record. Accumulate enough points or commit certain specific violations and you will find yourself facing a driver’s license suspension.

If you are under the age of 18 and you accumulate six or more points or are convicted of driving 26 miles per hour over the speed limit (or more), your driving privilege will automatically be suspended. While this first suspension will last for 90 days, subsequent suspensions last 120 days each. Other violations that result in driver’s license suspensions include being convicted for:

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
  • Reckless driving
  • Racing on the highway
  • Driving without vehicle lights on in order to avoid being identified
  • Driving to evade a police officer
  • Hit and run driving
  • Homicide by vehicle
  • Committing a felony with a vehicle
  • Failure to stop for a school bus whose red lights are flashing and stop arm is extended
  • Failure to obey a railroad crossing barrier or gate
  • Being convicted of driving without a valid license for the second time within five years

You’ll be notified that your license has been suspended in writing and required to return your driver’s license by the effective date of suspension.  If you fail to do so the police will pick up your license. Your license suspension date will not begin until PennDOT records that your license has been surrendered. For drivers who were not licensed in the first place, PennDOT requires an affidavit acknowledging the suspension be turned in to them.

A driver’s license suspension can have a significant impact on your quality of life. It can not only prevent you from having the liberty to go where you want whenever you want but can also impact your ability to commute to and from work, school, physician’s appointments and more. Fortunately, the state has an appeal process available. To appeal a driver’s license suspension, you must respond to the suspension notice within 30 days of the date it was mailed to you.

If you are facing a driver’s license suspension in Pennsylvania, you need the help and guidance of an experienced traffic violation attorney. Contact us today to set up a time for us to meet and discuss your case.